I love art. I especially love the way it moves people. And like wine, you and art should enjoy your own intimate relationship. You shouldn’t judge “good” by what others deem “good”. Good is what you think is good.

Part of the fun of being a parent is experiencing life through your child’s eyes. Sometimes these are big events, like the look on her face when she sees Cinderella’s castle for the first time. But just as fun to me, are the everyday experiences. Like today.

We’re moving to a new house and while my pre-teen daughter is planning every detail of her new room down to the tissue box holder, my 13-year-old son is indifferent. “A room is for sleeping,” he said. “I don’t care what it looks like.” I remind him that this is his chance to reflect his style, pick a paint color that makes him feel happy. Yes, a blank stare is the only response I’ve gotten back. Until today.

Walking through our local crafts store, my daughter picked out all things zebra and hot pink. (and yes, there is a plethora of this combination out there.) My son dutifully tagged along. Our final stop was the unframed prints. We flipped through laughing at some, commenting “awwww” at others. And then it hit him. He found the one. It was a vintage-styled ad for Black Dog Licorice by Ken Bailey. The little black dog standing on his hind legs, popping “sweet and silky candy chews” wasn’t staying in that poster bin one more minute. It reached out and grabbed him. It was coming home, to my son’s new room.

Art moves people. And it doesn’t matter if it’s in a museum or a print in a craft store. If you’re lucky – and you’re paying attention – art will reach out and grab you. I can’t wait to see the new room.

